什么时候去看治疗师

不孕症是一种可以触及一个人生活各个方面的医学疾病。 它可能会影响您对自己的感觉,与伴侣和他人的关系以及对生活的一般看法。 如果您一直认为怀孕会轻松的话,那么对您的诊断可能就很难了。 大多数面临不育症治疗的人都可以从家人,朋友,医疗护理人员和专业咨询师的支持中受益。
 
以下信息应帮助您决定是否需要寻求专业帮助来管理与不育相关的情绪压力。 

如果您感到沮丧、焦虑、害怕,或者因不孕症而感到难以享受生活,您不妨考虑咨询。 许多接受不孕症治疗的人觉得他们无法考虑其他任何事情。 在试管婴儿治疗过程中,有许多阶段需要克服,每个阶段都有自己的恐惧; 我是否有足够的卵泡、抽吸成功、我的卵子是否成功受精、我们是否有高质量的胚胎可以移植——毕竟,还有两周的等待时间来确定您是否怀孕。 这四个星期的时间可能会充满强烈的过山车情绪,不应掉以轻心。

咨询对于那些觉得需要调查和讨论他们的选择的人也非常有益。 面临不得不使用卵子或精子捐赠者或代孕母亲的可能性可能非常具有挑战性和意料之外,当您情绪激动时做出决定可能会非常艰难。 与专业人士讨论您的选择可以帮助您从一个好的地方做出明智和理性的决定,并为您提供继续成为父母的后续步骤所需的信心。

您可能会从专业咨询中受益的迹象可能包括:

  • 不断关注您的不孕症
  • 对日常活动和人际关系失去兴趣,或婚姻不和
  • 持续的悲伤,内或一文不值的感觉
  • 躁动和焦虑
  • 社会孤立
  • 情绪波动增加 
  • 抑郁症(或有关自杀或死亡的念头)
  • 增加饮酒或吸毒
  • 对治疗方案感到困惑或不确定该怎么办
  • 考虑第三方繁殖(供体卵,供体精子,供体胚胎,代孕)

专业的辅导员可以教会您应对技巧和策略,以期减轻与不育治疗相关的抑郁或焦虑。 您的辅导员还可以帮助您分类选择方案,帮助您根据治疗方案可能涉及的内容做出明智的决定,包括这些选择所带来的财务和情感压力。 

我们的驻场心理学家Mandy Rodrigues可以进行私人咨询。 电话+ 27(11)463 2244。

传播爱心

通过继续使用本网站,您同意使用Cookie。 更多信息

本网站的Cookie设置都设置为“允许Cookie”给你最好的浏览体验。 如果继续使用本网站而无需改变你的Cookie设置,或者您点击“接受”的,那么你同意这一点。

关闭

Infertility is a medical condition that can touch all aspects of a person’s life. It may affect how you feel about yourself, your relationship with your partner and others, and your general perspective on life. If you had always assumed that pregnancy would come easily then dealing with your diagnosis may be difficult for you. Most people facing infertility treatments can benefit from the support provided by family, friends, medical caregivers, and professional counsellors. 

The following information should help you to decide if you need to seek professional help in managing the emotional stress that is associated with infertility. 

You may wish to consider counselling if you are feeling depressed, anxious, scared, or are so preoccupied with your infertility that you feel it is hard to enjoy life. Many people going through infertility treatment feel like they are unable to think about anything else. During an IVF treatment there are many stages to be conquered and each brings its own set of fears; will I have enough follicles, will aspiration be successful, will my eggs be successfully fertilised, will we have quality embryos to transfer – and after all that, there is the two week wait to contend with to find out if you are pregnant. This four week period can be fraught with intense rollercoaster emotions that should not be taken lightly. 

Counselling is also very beneficial to those who feel they need to investigate and discuss their options. Facing the possibility of having to use egg or sperm donors, or a surrogate mother can be very challenging and unexpected and decision making can be very tough when you are feeling emotional. Talking your options through with a professional can help you to make informed and rational decisions from a good place, and give you the confidence you need to proceed with the next steps to becoming a parent.

Signs that you might benefit from professional counselling may include: 

  • Constant preoccupation with your infertility
  • Loss of interest in usual activities and relationships, or marital discord
  • Persistent feelings of sadness, guilt, or worthlessness
  • Agitation and anxiety
  • Social isolation
  • Increased mood swings 
  • Depression (or thoughts about suicide or death)
  • Increased use of alcohol or drugs
  • Confusion about treatment options or when you are not sure what to do
  • Considering third-party reproduction (donor egg, donor sperm, donor embryos, surrogacy)

A professional counsellor can teach you coping skills and strategies to hopefully alleviate some of the depression or anxiety associated with infertility treatments. Your counsellor can also help you to sort through your options helping you to make informed decisions based on what the treatment options may involve, including the financial and emotional stresses of these choices. 

Mandy Rodrigues our resident psychologist is available for private consultations. Telephone +27 (11) 463 2244.

Spread the love