男性不育

生育事实:不育对男人和女人的影响相同。 约三分之一的不孕病例归因于女性; 三分之一归因于该名男子; 剩下的三分之一则是由男性和女性因素共同导致的。

如果您正在阅读此信息,则可能是您的医生怀疑或诊断出您的伴侣怀孕之前需要解决功能性,激素性或精子性问题。 重要的是要了解,您可能会意识到这类男性因素问题更为常见,并且有许多简单有效的治疗方法可以帮助您一对夫妇怀孕。

传统上,不孕症被认为是女性的问题,然而,这与事实相去甚远。 在几乎一半难以受孕的夫妇中,可以发现男性问题。 不幸的是,男性不育症并不是一种被高度宣传或讨论的医疗状况,这会导致许多不同的情绪,包括愤怒、内疚、悲伤和不足。 有些男人倾向于觉得他们的男子气概和男子气概被剥夺了,他们抛弃了他们的伴侣。 在处理这些情绪时,重要的是您与伴侣讨论您的感受并接受他们的理解和支持。 您的医疗团队,包括顾问,也将能够帮助您解决任何疑虑或问题。

几乎所有男性不育的原因通常都与精子疾病有关——要么太少,要么质量不够。 正是出于这个原因,对不孕夫妇的首批调查之一是精液分析实验室测试。 与女性不同的是,男性不断更新其生殖细胞的供应,一次射精可能包含多达 200 亿个精子细胞。 每毫升精液中有 20 万个精子被认为是正常的受精。 样本还应显示超过一半的精子细胞是活动的,并且大约是正常形状的三分之一。

男性不孕

几乎所有导致男性不育的原因通常都与精子疾病有关——要么太少,要么质量不够。 正是出于这个原因,对不孕夫妇的首批调查之一是精液分析实验室测试。 与女性不同的是,男性不断更新其生殖细胞的供应,一次射精可能包含多达 200 亿个精子细胞。 每毫升 20 万个精子数量被认为是正常的受精。 样本还应显示超过一半的精子细胞是活动的,并且大约是正常形状的三分之一。

什么是不孕?

当怀孕能力减弱或消失时,使用“不孕症”一词。 这并不意味着您无法生孩子,而是您可能需要治疗或帮助才能怀孕。 如果一对夫妇在12个月定期无保护的性交后或35岁以上的女性六个月后未怀孕,通常会使用不育。 有两种类型的不孕症。 第一个被称为原发性不孕症,这是一对夫妇从未有过生育的地方。 继发性不孕症是一对夫妇生完孩子后无法怀孕的地方。 对于男性,不育问题可能涉及精子,睾丸自身,从睾丸引出的导管,或者是与性活动有关的功能性问题。

男性不育的体征和症状

除了无法怀孕外,通常没有明显的不孕症迹象或症状。 勃起、性交和射精通常会正常发生,射出的精液的数量和外观通常在肉眼下看起来是正常的。 

男性不育的危险因素是什么?

以下是与男性不育症(也称为男性不育症)相关的危险因素列表:

  • 前列腺炎或生殖器感染的病史
  • 睾丸外伤或扭转
  • 性早熟(青春期发生在青春期)或青春期延迟(青春期发生在青春期)的病史
  • 暴露在作业中的有毒物质或危险中,例如铅,镉,汞,环氧乙烷,氯乙烯,放射性和X射线
  • 抽烟或抽大麻
  • 重度酒精摄取
  • 生殖器暴露于高温
  • 疝气修复
  • 未降睾丸
  • 溃疡或牛皮癣的处方药
  • 青春期后的腮腺炎

提高生育能力

为了给自己最好的怀孕机会,建议每两到三天进行一次无保护的性交。 此外,建议以某些方式改变生活方式并安排性交时间以使自己最富有,这是使受孕可能性最大的一些推荐方法。

如需进一步信息, 生活方式的改变点击这里.

诊断男性不育

第一次与生育专家会面时,最好结伴而行。 您的专家最初会询问有关您的病史和性生活的详细问题,并应进行身体检查。 欲了解更多信息 初步咨询点击这里. 有关更多信息 男性测试和治疗点击这里.

我们要测试什么?

在评估一对夫妇时,您的专家将尝试确定怀孕所需的以下哪些基本条件可能无法正常运行:

  • 数量和质量良好的男性精子。 如果精子是:
    • 生产数量不足
    • 受阻,无法到达外界
    • 不太会游泳
    • 被雄性或雌性免疫系统产生的抗体识别并攻击为异源细胞
  • 荷尔蒙的正确平衡,可以促进卵子和精子的发育和支持
  • 健康的成熟雌性卵以及是否定期排卵
  • 功能正常的生殖道(子宫和输卵管),使卵子和精子相遇并受精
  • 女性身体允许植入胚胎并维持和滋养胚胎的能力

男性不育的常见原因

最重要的任务之一是尝试确定男性不育的原因。 虽然通常很难确定原因,但了解不孕症的原因既可以令人放心,又可以为您的专家指明最佳治疗方法。 尽管男性不育通常与阳痿有关,但许多不育男性的性关系完全正常。 事实上,最常见的原因是精子数量低,在极少数情况下,精液样本中不含活动的精子细胞(这种情况称为无精子症)。 吸烟、过度饮酒和肥胖都与精子数量减少有关。

生活方式因素可能影响生育力,但对于男性而言,最常见的不孕原因是:

  • 损害精子生产
  • 荷尔蒙问题
  • 睾丸引出的导管阻塞
  • 射精问题
  • 精子抗体
  • 遗传问题,例如囊性纤维化
  • 某些药物
  • 先前的手术
  • 流行性腮腺炎等感染和疾病

治疗男性不育

发现无法轻松受孕的医学原因并按照专家的建议开始治疗,是您人生新的积极阶段的开始。 然而,承认即使接受治疗也可能需要一些时间才能怀孕,这一点也很重要。 这可能是一个漫长、令人沮丧和情绪化的过程,您和您的伴侣应该为此做好准备(请参阅我们的应对策略部分,了解一些建议的应对方法)。 

可以在以下选项中找到治疗选项列表 治疗与服务 我们网站的部分。 

咨询

咨询是当今所有不孕服务的重要组成部分。 我们对每对不育夫妇的情绪和治疗本身的压力很敏感。 Medfem生育诊所可随时为所有患者提供咨询。 有关更多信息,请访问 咨询和支持 我们网站的部分。

传播爱心

通过继续使用本网站,您同意使用Cookie。 更多信息

本网站的Cookie设置都设置为“允许Cookie”给你最好的浏览体验。 如果继续使用本网站而无需改变你的Cookie设置,或者您点击“接受”的,那么你同意这一点。

关闭

Fertility Fact: Infertility affects men and women equally. About one-third of infertility cases are due to the woman; one-third are due to the man; and the remaining one-third are due to a combination of male and female factor issues.

If you are reading this information chances are that your doctor suspects or has diagnosed that there is a functional, hormonal or sperm problem that needs to be addressed before your partner becomes pregnant. It is important to understand that these kinds of male factor problems are more common that you might realise and that there are many simple and effective treatments available to help you as a couple to conceive. 

Traditionally, infertility has been thought of as a female problem, however, this is far from the truth. A male problem can be identified in nearly half of all couples who have difficulty achieving conception. Unfortunately male infertility is not a highly publicised or discussed medical condition and this can lead to many different emotions including anger, guilt, sadness and inadequacy. Some men tend to feel that they have been robbed of their virility and masculinity and that they have left their partner down. In dealing with these emotions it is important that you discuss how you feel with your partner and accept their understanding and support. Your healthcare team, including counsellors will also be able to help with any concerns or questions you may have.

Almost all causes of male infertility are usually related to sperm disorders – either too few in number or of inadequate quality. It’s for this reason that one of the first investigations of the infertile couple is a semen analysis laboratory test. The male, unlike the female, is constantly renewing his supply of germ cells, and a single ejaculate of semen may contain as many as 200 million individual sperm cells. A sperm count of 20 million per millilitre semen is considered normal for fertilisation. The sample should also show that more than half the sperm cells are motile, and around one-third of normal shape.

Male infertility

Almost all causes of male infertility are usually related to sperm disorders – either too few in number or of inadequate quality. It’s for this reason that one of the first investigations of the infertile couple is a semen analysis laboratory test. The male, unlike the female, is constantly renewing his supply of germ cells, and a single ejaculate of semen may contain as many as 200 million individual sperm cells. A sperm count of 20 million per millilitre semen is considered normal for fertilisation. The sample should also show that more than half the sperm cells are motile, and around one-third of normal shape.

What is infertility?

The term ‘infertility’ is used when the ability to become pregnant is diminished or absent. It does not mean that you are unable to have children but that you may require treatment or assistance to achieve a pregnancy. Infertility is generally used if a couple has not conceived after 12 months of regular unprotected intercourse or after six months for women aged over 35. There are two types of infertility. The first is known as primary infertility and this is where a couple has never achieved having a baby before. Secondary infertility is where a couple is unable to conceive after they have already had a child. For men, the infertility problem may involve the sperm, the testes themselves, the ducts that lead out from the testes or be a functional problem in relation to sexual activity. 

Signs and Symptoms of Male Infertility

Usually there are no obvious signs or symptoms of an infertility problem other than the inability to fall pregnant. Erections, intercourse and ejaculation will usually happen normally and the quantity and appearance of the ejaculated semen generally appears normal to the naked eye. 

What are the risk factors for men regarding infertility?

The following is a list of risk factors related to male infertility (also called male factor infertility):

  • History of prostatitis or genital infection
  • Testicular trauma or torsion
  • History of precocious puberty (puberty occurring at a young age) or delayed puberty (puberty occurring at an older age)
  • Exposure to toxic substances or hazards on the job, such as lead, cadmium, mercury, ethylene oxide, vinyl chloride, radioactivity, and X-rays
  • Cigarette or marijuana smoking
  • Heavy alcohol consumption
  • Exposure of the genitals to high temperatures
  • Hernia repair
  • Undescended testicles
  • Prescription drugs for ulcers or psoriasis
  • Mumps after puberty

Boosting your Fertility

To give yourself the best chance of becoming pregnant, it is recommended that you have unprotected intercourse every two to three days. In addition, changing your lifestyle in certain ways and timing intercourse for when you are most fertile are some of the recommended ways to maximise the possibility of conceiving. 

For further information on lifestyle changes click here

Diagnosing Male Infertility

For your first appointment with a fertility specialist it is best to go as a couple. Your specialist will initially ask you detailed questions about your medical history and your sex life and should conduct a physical examination. For further information on the initial consultation click here. For further information on Tests and Treatments for men click here

What are we testing for?

When evaluating a couple, your specialist will try to determine which of the following essential conditions required for pregnancy may not be functioning properly:

  • A good quantity and quality of male sperm. There will be a decrease in fertility if the sperm are:
    • Not being produced in adequate numbers
    • Obstructed and cannot reach the outside world
    • Not swimming  very well
    • Being identified and attacked as a foreign cell by antibodies produced by the male or female’s immune system
  • The right balance of hormones to allow egg and sperm development and support
  • A healthy mature female egg and whether ovulation regularly takes place
  • A functioning reproductive tract (uterus and fallopian tubes) which allows for the egg and sperm to meet and fertilise
  • The ability of the female body to allow for implantation of an embryo and to maintain and nourish the embryo

Common Causes of Infertility in Men

One of the most important tasks is to try and establish the cause of a man’s infertility. While it is often very difficult to establish the cause, actually knowing the reason for your infertility is both reassuring and indicates the best method of treatment to your specialist. Although male infertility is commonly associated with impotence, many infertile men have perfectly normal sexual relationships. Indeed, the most common causes are low sperm counts and in rare cases semen samples which contain no motile sperm cells (a condition known as azoospermia). Smoking, excessive use of alcohol and obesity have all been linked to poor sperm counts. 

Lifestyle factors may impact fertility but for men the most common causes of infertility are:

  • Damage to sperm production
  • Hormonal problems
  • Obstruction to the ducts leading out from the testis
  • Ejaculation issues
  • Sperm antibodies
  • Genetic problems such as Cystic Fibrosis
  • Certain medications
  • Prior surgeries
  • Infection and disease such as Mumps

Treating Male Infertility

Discovering the medical reason for not being able to conceive easily and beginning treatment as advised by your specialist, is the start of a new and positive phase of your life. However, it is also important to acknowledge that even with treatment, it may take some time to become pregnant. It can be a long, frustrating and emotional process and you and your partner should prepare yourselves for this (see our section on Coping Strategies for some suggested coping methods). 

A list of treatment options can be found under the Treatments & Services section of our website. 

 

Counselling

Counselling is an essential part of all infertility services today. We are sensitive to the emotions of each infertile couple and the stress of the treatment itself. Counselling is available to all patients at any time at Medfem Fertility Clinic. For further information visit the Counselling and Support section of our website.

Spread the love