鸡蛋冷冻和储存

玻璃化是一种新的冷冻技术,对于希望保持生育能力的人来说,冷冻和储存鸡蛋已成为更为现实的选择。 过去,卵冷冻仅用于医疗目的,例如在癌症治疗之前。 但是,对于可能希望推迟建房,要求苛刻的职业道路,或者可能没有牢固关系并且希望等到适合时机的妇女来说,冷冻鸡蛋正变得越来越重要。 现在,这种最先进的蛋冷冻保存方法为妇女提供了比以往更多的希望,以保持她们的生殖潜力。 越来越多的妇女经常将鸡蛋冷冻作为暂时停止其生物钟滴答的手段。

众所周知的事实是,随着鸡蛋数量和质量的降低,女性的生殖能力会随着年龄的增长而下降。 每个给定月份尝试受孕的可能性在30岁左右达到顶峰,并随着女性年龄的增长而逐渐降低。 35岁以后加速下降,而40岁以后下降更快。 尽早在妇女的生殖生活中进行冷冻,卵冷冻会产生最大的益处。

玻璃化是一种以非常快的速度冷却卵的技术,可以保存卵而不会形成有害的冰晶。 对于以前使用慢冷却技术的鸡蛋,该过程已显示出显着提高的成活率。

在进行鸡蛋冷冻之前,您将与医生进行全面咨询,以复查您的所有生殖选择。 将进行各种测试,以确定您当前的生殖潜力(卵巢储备),并根据卵子冷冻周期预测卵子的产量。 重要的是要为您确定最佳的刺激方案,以最大程度地提高鸡蛋数量,同时在任何给定的鸡蛋冷冻周期中获得不降低的鸡蛋质量。

在Medfem生育诊所,我们在鸡蛋冷冻保存方面的多年经验意味着我们将为您提供有关您当前和未来生殖潜能以及冷冻鸡蛋的资格的专业医学意见。

请联系我们以获取更多信息并安排您的初步咨询 (27) 11 463 2244。

什么是鸡蛋冻结?

冷冻卵子是一项突破性技术,可以使妇女冷冻并储存卵子直到需要怀孕,然后将卵子解冻,受精并以胚胎的形式转移到子宫中。

谁可能会受益?

如今,许多女性感到不得不在职业和家庭之间进行选择的压力。 有些人正在重返学校或攻读高级学位,却不知道什么时候或是否会生孩子。 对于许多人来说,这可能只是没有找到合适的合作伙伴的问题。 对于所有这些妇女而言,冷冻卵不仅在其技术上具有革命性意义,而且在允许她们推迟生育方面所提供的自由方面都是革命性的。

患有子宫内膜异位症(一种可能损害卵巢功能的进行性疾病)的妇女可以通过冷冻卵子来实现重要的家庭选择。 子宫内膜异位症在西方世界变得越来越普遍,尤其是在年轻女性中,导致寻求保留生育力的子宫内膜异位症大大增加。

生殖年龄组中被诊断出患有癌症的女性,如果需要进行化疗和/或放射治疗,通常会通过破坏卵子而导致不育,那么它们就是冷冻卵子的极佳候选人。 尽管选择取决于年龄,癌症类型和癌症治疗计划,但冷冻卵子可以为这些妇女提供保持生育能力的机会。 如果被诊断出患有癌症,则患者需要紧急联系Medfem生育诊所以进行快速预约。 采卵的过程必须在进行任何形式的治疗之前进行。

最后,对于出于宗教或道德上的反对而储存冷冻胚胎的个人,冷冻鸡蛋可能很有用。 通常,在常规IVF中,将剩余的任何多余胚胎冷冻以备将来使用。 但是,如果不使用它们,则将其丢弃会带来棘手的道德问题。 冷冻未受精卵的能力为许多人提供了积极的解决方案。

鸡蛋冷冻如何工作

在我们的计划中,确定您的卵子冷冻成功成功机会的两个最重要因素是血清FSH(生育力恒温器)值和卵巢的基线“静止卵泡”计数。 这些研究可帮助您深入了解卵巢产生健康卵的能力,从而使卵子成功冷冻,融化并最终受精和胚胎发育。 这些是导致成功怀孕的关键步骤。 FSH血液测试和卵巢超声静息卵泡研究对于程序进入是强制性的。

重要的是,年龄起着重要的作用。 鸡蛋越年轻,机会越多。

治疗过程中的步骤

我们的治疗方案涉及准备卵巢以生产冷冻过程所需的成熟卵。

步骤

步骤1涉及等待正常的月经期开始。 根据为您制定的治疗方案,从月经开始就为您提供开始生育药的指示,或者在周期开始后三周内等待特定日期的指示。让医生有机会针对接下来的生育药优化您的卵巢。

第2步-卵巢刺激

步骤2涉及管理生育药物,这些药物的设计目的是使您的卵巢开始生长几个卵,然后将其取出进行冷冻。 在此阶段,您可以自行管理可成功产生多个健康卵的药物,也可以让Medfem的护士为您管理每日注射。 我们的哺乳姐妹将向您展示开始周期之前如何使用可注射药物。 在服用这些药物时,您需要在使用药物的3-4天期间进行10-12次超声检查。

步骤3 –取蛋

确定您的卵已经完全成熟后,将安排您进行卵的外科手术收获。 这将由Medfem诊所的一名医生完成。 在几乎所有情况下,均使用轻度镇静剂进行手术,从而可以相对无痛地进行手术,并迅速恢复。 一旦确定您的病情稳定,您通常会在手术后的2-3个小时内离开诊所。

步骤4 –卵母细胞冷冻保存

回收鸡蛋后,由胚胎学家在我们的冷冻保存实验室中准备它们。 第一步是确保鸡蛋的健康外观,并开始准备通过玻璃化冷冻的鸡蛋。
玻璃化技术使用快速的两阶段过程。 第一种方法使鸡蛋脱水以除去大部分液体; 第二阶段将卵冷冻得如此迅速,以至于从液体到固体的转变都是瞬间的。 没有冰晶形成,并且稠度类似于粘性玻璃态(因此称为“玻璃化”)。

步骤5 –卵母细胞储存

冷冻过程之后,您的鸡蛋将被转移到液氮储存室中,并以冷冻状态储存在其中。 该室位于Medfem生育诊所。 研究表明,鸡蛋耐受冷冻过程的能力存在很大差异。 他们还表明,在一组冷冻的鸡蛋中,有些可以存活,而另一些则不能。 在那些能在冷冻和融化后存活的植物中,有些在接触精子时会受精,而另一些则不会。

步骤6 –解冻和使用冷冻鸡蛋

当您有时间使用冷冻保存的鸡蛋时,您需要在您希望将鸡蛋融化和受精之前至少三个月与我们的设施进行安排。 必须记住,鸡蛋未经冷冻就已经冷冻,并且先前冷冻的鸡蛋的受精需要特殊的技术和处理。 通过使用称为“ ICSI”(胞浆内精子注射)的方法,大大提高了冷冻保存卵的成功受精。 使用这种方法可以确保卵子受精的最佳机会,以及随后卵子发育成健康胚胎的潜力,并有可能持续怀孕。 当您与我们联系使用冷冻鸡蛋的要求时,我们将开始安排所需的治疗周期,以确保为您提供成功怀孕的最佳机会。

必须注意的是,鸡蛋解冻,胚胎受精和胚胎移植的费用不包括在鸡蛋冷冻程序的费用中。

成功率

以下成功率基于已发表的同行评审医学文献:

  1. 使用玻璃化冻融后用于冷冻保存的每个卵母细胞的总体活产率约为4%。 例如,如果将10个鸡蛋冷冻,则有40%的机会活产。
  2. 鉴于大多数已发表的报告都描述了年轻女性的结局,因此35年龄后冷冻保留卵母细胞的女性的成功率可能会大大低于目前的总体估计。

冷冻卵的成功率可以等同于经历与年龄相关的体外受精周期的成功率(<30yrs 50%,30-36 40%,37-40 33%,40-42 20%) 。

和创新

到2008早期,全世界大约有500个婴儿是用冷冻卵出生的。 在这些出生中,出生缺陷和染色体缺陷的发生率没有高于我们在普通人群中看到的比率。 另外,可以进行胚胎的遗传筛选。

成本

可以在以下位置找到卵子冷冻计划的费用 https://medfem.co.za/treatment-costs/ 根据程序。

心理考量

如果您在以后怀孕时遇到问题,将鸡蛋冷冻可以为您提供备用计划。 但是,重要的是不要将生活决策和期望建立在有限数量的冷冻卵母细胞的基础上。冷冻卵的实际质量及其能力只有在以后受精时才能确定。

风险

对于生育药,我们采取特殊的预防措施可以避免发生罕见的并发症。

1。 过度刺激综合症

当使用生育药并且卵巢中形成过多卵泡(卵)时,这是一种罕见但严重的并发症。 卵巢过度刺激的症状包括下腹部疼痛,并伴有腹部肿胀。 卵巢变得很大,周围充满液体,这可能会引起恶心和呕吐。 以这种方式流失的液体可能导致脱水和尿量减少。 建议任何在采卵后出现腹痛和肿胀的妇女打电话给诊所进行检查,以确保这种情况不会恶化。 治疗可能需要住院几天,卧床休息,很少有静脉输液。 我们通过选择能产生足够数量卵子的最低剂量的生育药来避免这种风险。 如果在卵收集时所有卵泡都排干了,则可能会大大降低卵巢过度刺激综合症的风险,我们可以在卵收集后两周内使用片剂来进一步降低卵巢过度刺激综合症的风险。

2。 流血的

任何外科手术都有出血的风险,我们可以通过使用非常细的针进行卵收集手术来避免这种情况。 过去,我们对此并发症没有任何问题。 您可能会希望在鸡蛋恢复的当天出现少量出血,几天后出血会减轻。 如果出血加重,请联系诊所。

3.感染

这是通过在手术前检查阴道感染来限制的。

4. 卵子冷冻有多成功?

冷冻后鸡蛋的成活率取决于冷冻前鸡蛋的质量,但是平均而言,冷冻后的鸡蛋中只有大约70%的鸡蛋可以在冷冻和解冻过程中存活。 在存活的卵中,大约有65%的卵将响应ICSI(胞浆内精子注射)而受精。

如果您有兴趣冷冻卵子,请联系Medfem诊所:011 4632244

传播爱心

通过继续使用本网站,您同意使用Cookie。 更多信息

本网站的Cookie设置都设置为“允许Cookie”给你最好的浏览体验。 如果继续使用本网站而无需改变你的Cookie设置,或者您点击“接受”的,那么你同意这一点。

关闭

Vitrification, a new freezing technique, has made egg freezing and storage a much more realistic option for those wishing to preserve their fertility. In the past egg freezing was only performed for medical purposes such as ahead of cancer treatment. However, egg freezing is becoming of increasing interest to women who may wish to delay building a family, have a demanding career path, or may not be in a secure relationship and wish to wait until the time is right for them. Such cutting-edge protocols for egg cryopreservation now gives women more hope than ever in preserving their reproductive potential. More and more women are frequently turning to egg freezing as a means of temporarily stopping their biological clocks from ticking. 

It is a known fact that women experience a decline in reproductive capacity with increasing age as their egg number and quality diminishes. The likelihood of conceiving per given month of trying peaks at around age 30 and gradually decreases as women age. There is an accelerated decline after age 35 and an even more rapid decline after age 40. Egg freezing yields its highest benefits when performed as early as possible in a woman’s reproductive life. 

Vitrification is a technique which cools the eggs at a very fast rate so that the eggs are preserved without the formation of damaging ice crystals. The process has shown significantly improved survival rates for eggs that previously used slow-cooling techniques. 

Before undergoing egg freezing you will undergo a comprehensive consultation with your Doctor to review all of your reproductive options. Various tests will be performed to determine your current reproductive potential (ovarian reserve) and to predict your egg yield from an egg freezing cycle. It is important to determine the most optimal stimulation protocol for you, with the aim of maximising egg number while achieving undiminished egg quality from any given egg freezing cycle.

At Medfem Fertility Clinic, our years of experience in egg cryopreservation means we will be able to provide you with an expert medical opinion about your current and future reproductive potential as well as your eligibility for egg freezing.

Kindly contact us for additional information and to schedule your initial consultation (27) 11 463 2244

What Is Egg Freezing?

Egg freezing is a breakthrough technology that allows women to freeze and store their eggs until a pregnancy is desired, at which time the eggs are thawed, fertilised and transferred to the uterus as embryos. 

Who May Benefit?

Many women today are feeling the pressure of having to choose between a career and a family. Some are returning to school or pursuing advanced degrees and don’t know when or if they will have children. For many, it may simply be an issue of not having found the right partner yet. For all of these women, egg freezing is revolutionary not just in its technology, but in the freedom it can offer in allowing them to postpone childbearing.

Women suffering from endometriosis, a progressive disease that can impair ovarian function, can realise significant family building options through egg freezing. Endometriosis is becoming far more common in the western world, particularly among younger women, and has resulted in a considerable increase in those seeking fertility preservation.

Women in the reproductive-age group that are diagnosed with cancer who will need chemotherapy and/or radiation treatments that can typically lead to infertility by destroying the eggs are excellent candidates for egg freezing. While options vary depending on age, type of cancer and cancer-treatment plan, egg freezing can provide these women the opportunity to preserve their fertility. If diagnosed with cancer then the patient needs to contact Medfem Fertility Clinic urgently for a fast track appointment. The process of egg collection must take place BEFORE any form of therapy takes place.

Finally, egg freezing can be useful for individuals with religious or moral objections to storing frozen embryos. Frequently, in routine IVF, any excess embryos that remain are frozen for future use. However, if they are not to be used, their disposal can create a difficult ethical issue. The ability to freeze unfertilised eggs offers a positive solution for many people. 

How Egg Freezing Works

Two of the most important factors in determining your chances for potential success with egg freezing in our program are your serum FSH (fertility thermostat) value and a baseline “resting follicle” count of your ovaries. These studies are used to gain an important understanding of the ability of your ovaries to produce healthy eggs of a quality that will allow for successful freezing, thaw and ultimate fertilisation and embryo development. These are the vital steps that lead to the establishment of successful pregnancy. The FSH blood test and ovarian ultrasound resting follicle studies are mandatory for program entry. 

Importantly, age plays a significant role. The younger the eggs are the better the chances are. 

Steps in the Treatment Process



Our treatment protocol involves the preparation of your ovaries for the production of mature eggs needed for the freezing process.


Step 1


Step 1 involves waiting for your normal menstrual period to begin. Depending upon the treatment protocol prescribed for you, with the beginning of your menses, you will either be given instructions to begin your fertility drugs, or instructions to wait for a certain date within the three weeks following the start of your period to begin a medication to allow the Doctors the opportunity to optimise your ovaries for the fertility drugs that will follow.



Step 2 – Ovarian Stimulation


Step 2 involves the administration of fertility medications designed to allow your ovaries to begin the growth of the several eggs that will be removed for subsequent freezing. During this phase, you can either self-administer the drugs that allow for the successful production of multiple healthy eggs, or have a nurse at Medfem administer the daily injections for you. Our nursing sisters will show you how to administer the injectable medications prior to commencing your cycle. While taking these medications, you will need to be seen for ultrasound studies 3-4 times over the 10-12 day period the medicines are being used. 


Step 3 – Egg Retrieval


After your eggs have been determined to have matured adequately, you will be scheduled for the surgical harvesting of your eggs. This will be done by one of the Doctors at the Medfem clinic. In nearly all instances, the procedure is carried out with a light sedative that allows a relatively pain-free procedure with a rapid recovery. You will be discharged from the clinic once it has been determined that you are stable, usually within 2-3 hours of your procedure.



Step 4 – Oocyte Cryopreservation


After your eggs have been recovered, they are prepared in our cryopreservation laboratory by the embryologist. The first step is to assure the healthy appearance of the eggs and begin the process of preparing the eggs for freezing via vitrification. 

The vitrification technique uses a rapid two stage process. The first dehydrates the egg to remove much of the liquid; the second stage freezes the eggs so rapidly that the transformation from liquid to solid is instantaneous. No ice crystals form and the consistency resembles a viscous glassy state (hence the term ‘vitrified’).

Step 5 – Oocyte Storage


Following the freezing process, your eggs will be transferred to a liquid nitrogen storage chamber where they are stored in their frozen state. This chamber is located at Medfem Fertility Clinic. Studies have shown that there is tremendous variability in the ability of eggs to tolerate the freezing process. They have also shown that within a single group of eggs frozen, some will survive and others will not. In those that do survive the freeze and later thaw, some will fertilise when exposed to sperm and others will not.

Step 6 – Thaw and Use of Your Frozen Eggs


When the time arrives for you to use your cryopreserved eggs, you will need to make arrangements with our facility at least 3 months in advance of the time you desire the eggs to be thawed and fertilised. It must be remembered that the eggs have been frozen UNFERTILISED, and that the fertilisation of previously frozen eggs requires special techniques and handling. The successful fertilisation of cryopreserved eggs is greatly enhanced by the use of a process called “ICSI” (intracytoplasmic sperm injection). Utilising this method ensures the best chance for the fertilisation of the eggs and their subsequent development into healthy embryos with the potential to produce an ongoing pregnancy. When we are contacted by you with a request for use of the frozen eggs, we will begin making the arrangements for the treatment cycle required to assure the best chance for a successful pregnancy outcome for you. 

It must be noted that the costs of the thawing, fertilisation and transfer of embryos are not included in the costs of the egg freezing program.

Success Rates

The following success rates are based on published peer-reviewed medical literature:

  1. An approximate overall 4% live-birth rate per oocyte  thawed for cryopreservation using vitrification. E.g. if 10 eggs are frozen then there will be 40% chance of a live birth.
  2. The likelihood is that success rates may be significantly lower than current overall estimates for women who cryopreserve oocytes after age 35, given that most published reports have described outcomes for younger women.

The success rate of freezing eggs can be equated with the success rate of undergoing a cycle of  in-vitro fertilisation which correlates with age (<30yrs 50% , 30-36 40%, 37-40 33%, 40-42 20%). 

Safety

By early 2008, approximately 500 babies have been born worldwide from frozen eggs. Among these births, the rate of birth defects and chromosomal defects has been no higher than that which we see in the general population. Additionally, genetic screening of embryos is available. 

Cost

The cost of the primary visit and investigations consists of:

  • Consultation and Ultrasound with your Doctor 
  • Hormonal Blood testing 
  • Infection tests including HIV, Hepatitis B and  vaginal infection tests

The Cost of the egg freezing program is approximately R 28 600. This will include all the costs involved in obtaining eggs. This cost excludes the medication needed to stimulate the ovaries. The average cost of the medication is R13 000.

The cost of egg storage is R1 200.00 per annum.

Psychological Consideration

The freezing of your eggs gives you a backup plan if you have problems falling pregnant at a later age. However, it is important not to base your life decisions and expectations on a limited number of cryopreserved oocytes.The actual quality of the frozen eggs and their ability will only be determined when they are fertilised at a later date.

Risks


With fertility drugs there are rare complications that we try to avoid by taking specific precautions.

1. Hyperstimulation Syndrome

This is a rare, but serious complication when fertility drugs are used and too many follicles (eggs) develop in the ovaries. The symptoms of ovarian hyperstimulation include lower abdominal pain accompanied by swelling of the abdomen. The ovaries become very large and surrounded by fluid and this may cause some nausea and vomiting. The loss of fluid in this way may lead to dehydration and decreased urine output. Any woman developing abdominal pain and swelling after the egg collection procedure is advised to telephone the clinic to attend for a check up so that we may make sure this condition is not developing. Treatment may require admission to hospital for bed rest for a few days and very rarely, intravenous fluids. We avoid this risk by choosing the lowest dose of fertility drugs that will produce an adequate number of eggs. If all the follicles are drained at the time of egg collection, the risk of ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome may be greatly reduced and we can further reduce the risk of the syndrome by the use of tablets for two weeks following the egg collection.

2. Bleeding


Any surgical procedure carries the risk of bleeding and we avoid this by using very thin needles for the egg collection procedure. We have not had any problems with this complication in the past. You may expect a small amount of bleeding on the day of the egg recovery which will ease after a couple of days. If the bleeding becomes heavier, please contact the Clinic.



3. Infection


This is limited by checking for vaginal infections before the procedure.

4. 
How Successful is Egg Freezing?


Survival rates for eggs following freezing depend on the quality of the eggs before freezing, but on average only about 70% of the eggs frozen will survive the freezing and thawing process. Of the surviving eggs about 65% of these in turn will fertilise in response to ICSI (intra cytoplasmic sperm injection).

If you are interested in freezing your eggs please contact Medfem Clinic: 011 4632244 

Spread the love